So, where have I been?

  • Working out with Leslie Sansone in the garage.  It just feels better than anything else
  • Playing with my new Jawbone UP24 fitness tracker
  • Logging food in MyFitnessPal
  • Losing 3 lbs or there abouts
  • Making time for myself

About that Jawbone Up24 fitness band:

I’ve been wanting a fitness tracker.  I thought I wanted a Fitbit Flex but Apple and Fitbit don’t play well.  I did research and read some really positive reviews of the UP app that supports the fitness band.  So, I had Target gift cards from my birthday and Christmas and last weekend, I took them and got myself the band.  Downloaded the app and learned that food logging wasn’t as easy as I had hoped, thus MyFitnessPal, which plays very well with the UP app.

What I love about the UP app is that it is not full of numbers.  Food gets logged and I see a food score for the day – 10 is good, 3 is not.  I’m no where near a 10 yet.  The thing is, it keeps me from getting caught up in the numbers the way I’ve done in the past.

What I love about the band itself?  It’s easy to forget you’re wearing it, but when you look down and see it, it’s a great visual reminder to get up and  move.  Better yet – it has vibration alarms.  I have it set so that if I don’t move for an hour between 9 AM and 9PM, it buzzes me.  I love it.  I also love that it tracks my sleep and my steps.  And updates the app (and MyFitnessPal) almost immediately.

Joining that gym was a good positive kick in the butt for me.  I HATE gyms and treadmills and once again, I was looking for a magic bullet instead of what I already had in my arsenal.  I quickly saw that I had made a mistake and looked around for what I knew I would do:  Leslie Sansone.  I always go back to her workouts.  They are easy to do (no movements or poses to make you feel like a beached whale), they can be ramped up or ratcheted down depending on fitness level.  I’m feeling good about myself for the first time in a long time.

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in The "I Have No Time" Health Restoration Plan. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to So, where have I been?

  1. ProjectME says:

    Yayyyyy! I love this post! It’s so good to hear you feeling good about yourself. You sound good!

    • Maura says:

      Thanks, Becky. I really do feel better. I was stuck in what we call at work analysis paralysis. I spent so much time analyzing what might work and not doing anything. This is working. Slowly. And that’s good.

  2. Lauren says:

    way to go..glad your doing well..and sounding amazing..all on your own..funny you didnt pay a 30 something to tell you how to Live More..sorry had to do that !! keep posting !!

    • Maura says:

      Thanks, Lauren. Nope – no need to pay someone to tell me what I know I need to do. I will say this – I’d love it if Leslie Sansone would produce her workouts without talking about losing weight. I’m working out to be healthy, not lose weight. I’m learning to rethink portions to lose weight.

  3. Snoskred says:

    This seems awesome. 🙂 Would love to know more about this up24 thing. I’m thinking of getting one of these soon.

    • Maura says:

      Thanks. So far, I really love the band. I don’t really care how accurate it is in terms of did i take 5700 vs 5600 steps. All the bands have variances. What I love is I get just enough feedback to spur me on, but not so much that I start getting really hung up on the numbers. I love that it buzzes me every hour if I haven’t moved in that hour. I try very hard to pay attention to that buzz.

      I have totally surprised myself with the food logging. I still don’t like it – but I’d been living in a chocolate river of denial when it came to the calories I was consuming. I don’t want to be obsessed with nutritional balance (though I do best when I balance my foods nutritionally) but just to have a good general idea of how much I’m consuming and where I need to scale back. For example – maybe switching out 1 boiled egg at breakfast for ½ cup fruit and ½ cup beans or something with lots of fiber would be good. I see my fiber intake is not high enough. But I’m not about to start memorizing nutrition labels to see what has the most. I know what has lots of fiber. I need to eat less of some things and more of those things.

  4. Zazamataz says:

    I’ve been wondering where you were! Sounds like you’re feeling good and have a plan that works for you. I always say that the “right” plan is the one you will stick with. I’d like to hear more about how this Jawbone thing works for you.

    • Maura says:

      Hey, Zazzy! I’ll post more about the fitness band as I use it. I’ll even post some screenshots of the daily reports from the app. How are you doing?

Leave a comment!

