A little slip up

I got hooked – was scanning an online news article fluff piece about how to not over eat at the Thanksgiving meal.  The fluff piece gave a link to a – wait for it – diet book.  For some reason it caught my eye and interest and was only $7 to read on Kindle.  Hook line sinker… click.

So I scanned the book.  It started out simply enough – common sense things to do like eat regular meals, lighten up where you can.  Then the writer started dissing butter and recommending low fat and no fat version of mayo, etc.  In other words advocating the use of fake foods.  I noticed how I was beginning to feel tense, pissed, overall not good about anything, including myself.

What did I do this time?  I stopped reading the book and pretty much told it (and the writer) to f!&K off.  The result – I started feeling better.

It’s been two weeks since I’ve limited my exposure to messages about making myself better.  And I feel better.  So next time I see a news article fluff piece where the headline promises ways to be better, I’m not going to let myself be click baited.  I KNOW I don’t need fixing and I know what I need to do to feel good.

Thanksgiving was kind of a mixed bag  – but yesterday was wonderful.  My husband took me south of the city to middle GA to eat in a southern cooking restaurant that has been in business since 1959 and was well loved by the Allman Brothers.  Collard greens done right!  Why is it so hard to find southern food prepared correctly anymore?  And why is the food I grew up eating now a ‘cuisine.’  It’s just food.  Simple, real food.   And H&H (the restaurant) really knows how to do it right.   From there  – a side excursion for the best BBQ in GA – Old Clinton’s.   We’re having BBQ sammiches for dinner tonight.  YUM!

I hope your holiday has been all you’ve wanted it to be.

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment!

