What a difference..

I’ve been avoiding added sugars  and fried foods for the past week -without being anal about it.  I still have sugar in my coffee and 1 Dove’s Promise after lunch.  And instead of a spoonful or two of ice cream with  my hubby at night, I have frozen fruit instead.  Yum.  (Zazzy – right now, I’m eating it plain, slightly thawed – freezing brings out the natural sweetness so it’s really wonderful).

We’ve had Mexican twice and twice I’ve not indulged in the chips and salsa.  And I’ve also ordered dishes with less cheese than others.   And when we had Chinese food yesterday, I stopped eating the crispy noodle things when I decided they were fried rather than baked.  They weren’t the crispy fried wonton wrappers, but some other noodle that look baked rather than fried.  I broke my second one in half and looked at the inside and decided it might be fried and stopped eating.

I actually stepped on the scales this afternoon and was very pleased with the number.  It was 1# higher than my last scale reading, but it was also taken in the afternoon instead of first thing in the morning.  The damage from the Girl Scout Cookies has been reversed, I think.

All of this adds up to my feeling lighter, content and connection.  Lighter in my body, content with my choices and connection with my body.  I think focusing on how I want to feel vs what I want to weigh is really beginning to pay off.

 

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Core Desired Feelings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What a difference..

  1. ProjectME says:

    This is fantastic Maura! Great job of awareness. I will have to try the frozen fruit thing – sounds good!

  2. Zazamataz says:

    I like frozen fruit too. I sometimes like to whir it around in the food processor until it’s kind of sorbet like. But it sounds to me like you are making great choices. That’s hard to do when the chips or crispy noodles are right in front of you – so kudos!

Leave a comment!

