I’ll never give up pen and paper

To Do Lists. I LOVE making lists. I typically forget about them as soon as I make them, but I’ve been working on that. To go along with my love of lists, is my obsession for finding the perfect To Do app that works on all my technology (phone, tablet, computer). There are plenty of them out there. And they all miss something.

For example, last night, I downloaded the app Errands. It pretty much as everything I want and then some. And it also seems very child-like and annoying to me visually. Then there is Gneo. I love it. Except I’m losing tasks in it. Not sure how. I love that tasks can easily be arranged but sort of long for more of a list look and feel.

And then I got hooked, but not caught, by the formerly very highly rated Todoist. Beautiful interface. Free to download. $29 to buy any of the absolutely necessary features. I actually left my first review in the App Store on this on.

I know why none of the lists are appealing to me completely. I’m really and truly a pen an paper sort of gal and the sooner I remember that, the better.

So here’s what I’m thinking. I buy myself a pretty little notebook and I start jotting down ALL the things I want to do in it. Some of the items will be want to do’s and others will be must do’s. Each day, I’ll pull out my pretty little notebook and review the list and choose 3-5 things on it to do that day. Those items will be added to Reminders on my devices.

I’m already doing a form of this for work. I have the running list in the back of my notebook and I make the day’s To Do list on a 4×6 lined Post-it(tm) Note. It works well. And when combined with journaling for a few minutes, it becomes even more powerful.

I may still try to find something better than Reminders to help me keep track of my personal to do’s. But for now, I think I like my plan.

How do you keep up with things?

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Organization. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’ll never give up pen and paper

  1. Zazamataz says:

    I’ve yet to find a list app that I like. I generally make complicated lists in word but I like to have them printed and in hand, able to be crossed off or notated or added to.

Leave a comment!

