A Rant: Skyrocketing Real Food Costs

One of the things I’ve come to notice is that the more obsessed our society started becoming with the next greatest diet, the fatter we became. When I was growing up, eating traditional Southern fare, I was a little bit pudgy as a child, but grew out of it my teen age years. Children might be pudgy, but true obesity was rare. The same was the case with adults.

I grow so concerned that so many in our society seem to be looking for the holy grail in a magic pill: a food that tastes great and helps you lose weight. A friend remarked about how high the cost of frozen kale had become. I looked at her and said yes, of course – it’s a superfood now. Growing up, it was a low cost, nutritious part of our winter diet. There was no such thing as a superfood.

While I completely agree that a calorie is not a necessarily just a calorie, I think we must be careful about giving to much power to nutritionism. I don’t know if it was Michael Pollan who coined that word, but I know he discusses it in Eat Food, Not Too Much, Mostly Plants. I think if strive for balance and eat what we instinctively know is healthy most of the time, we’ll be well on our way to reclaiming our health and telling the diet industry what they can go do with themselves.

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment!

