New week, new words

I love that I’m working through an evolutionary process. With some more journaling today, I’ve come up with a new list of desired feelings – these seem to feel better than last week’s list. More me.

Feminine – as I gained weight, I lost feeling pretty and feminine. I still am – I just let feeling that way be buried. What can I do to feel feminine? Eat well, take care of my skin (ie, slather on some yummy lotions), dress nicely in clothes that fit well, acknowledge my beauty to myself (yeah, that sounds vain, but right now that may be in order).

Strong – no physical activity = no physical strength. I’m strong in many other ways, but I am not as strong as I’d like to be physically. There’s one good way to change that – exercise. There’s also a good way to feel stronger immediately: maintain a good posture.

Integrity – I’ve lost this with myself (this feeling corresponds to Trust from last week). And I think it’s key. Very simply, I need to walk the talk.

Peace – this is almost always a desire for me. It manifests in many ways – getting my chores done, being responsible with money, getting my work done, journalling, taking time to knit, making tea.

Abundance – I surprised myself when I started listing what makes me feel abundance: good food and wine, laughter, alpaca yarn (or any other fine fiber), good chocolate, a good book. It really wasn’t about money except that I need it to get good wine, yarn and chocolate). I like this list.

So my week’s goals are:

Plan, Prep and Pack smile-making food for work (feeling feminine, integrity and peace)
Do Barre3 workouts at least 3x (feeling feminine, strength, integrity)
Stay on top of the laundry – doing each load to completion (feeling peace)
Journal (pen and paper please) at least once (feeling peace)
Paint my fingernails (feeling feminine)
Look for reasons to laugh (feeling abundance)

And that’s it.

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Core Desired Feelings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New week, new words

  1. ProjectME says:

    I really like this new part of your journey Maura. And I particularly like this weeks post. For what it’s worth, I don’t think acknowledging your beauty is vain. In fact I think it’s far from it. I think it’s necessary. And right. And very true! Hugs and a high five!

    • Maura says:

      Hi, Becky.

      You know, on the days I remember to check in and remind myself how I want to feel, I actually have a better day in so many ways – not just food-wise.

      I really appreciate your support! And hope you’re also finding your way by keeping your promises to yourself. Because you’re worth it!

      Hugs and high five right back at ya!

  2. Zazamataz says:

    I really like your words and the way you are processing them. Do you feel less stuck? It seems that looking at life and goals from a different perspective would help one get un-stuck. And I’m with ProjectME there, acknowledging your beauty is good thing. I think we’re taught not to do it and to instead beat ourselves up over our perceived flaws – and that is really unhelpful.

    • Maura says:

      Thanks, Zazzy. Overall, I feel a bit more like I might actually stick with this. I’ve actually started a “book club” on MyFoodDiary.com to go through The Desire Map very methodically. What I’m still loving about the process is that there’s not one hint that it’s about fixing me. It’s just about learning what really makes me tick -ie, what really makes me feel the ways I want to feel and what I need to do to feel those ways.

      As far as feeling less stuck? Maybe a little. This is definitely not something to work on once a week and then forget about it the rest of the week. When I take the time to plan my day with my desired feeling in mind, I do better. And as a result, I feel better. And isn’t that what we all really want? To just plain feel better.

  3. Pingback: words | zazamataz.com

Leave a comment!

