Happy New Year!

First – I hope everyone has had a wonderful holiday season and that it was all they wanted it to be.

Mine, to be honest, has been less than stellar.  It’s OK.  Living with someone who really doesn’t care about Christmas – especially the trimmings part – when I love it so, makes for an unsettled time for me.  Decorating my space has always been what put in the Christmas spirit.  With all the cats and his apathy, I just didn’t do anything to make the house feel like Christmas.  And as I result, I didn’t feel like Christmas myself.  Enough on that.

No resolutions this year.  Not one.  I’m still working on my Core Desired Feelings -and once I have those identified (I love it that they can change), I may set some goals that center around doing things that result in fulfilling those core desires.

One thing I’ve done – not sure for how long – I rejoined MyFoodDiary.  I won’t be tracking my food.    I will be tracking the things I identify as necessary to feel good, which really is the overall core desired feeling.   I also need some private support.  Not sure I can get it there, but I can’t ask for it here.  It’s too private and I must protect the ‘innocent.’

What are your New Year’s Traditions?   Both my husband and I are southerner’s and we always look forward to New Year’s Day dinner:  collard greens, black-eyed peas and pan fried pork chops.  This morning I volunteered to clean and prep the greens.  I don’t know if you’ve ever prepped fresh collards, but it can be a bit messy.   The best ones come off a farmer’s tailgate, but barring that, they are locally grown and harvested.  They are not pre-washed and cut.  They’re certainly not de-stemmed.   So I set about de-stemming, washing, washing and washing again the  leaves. Hubby left me alone in the kitchen so I was able to do it my way and it became quite meditative for me. I found myself enjoying the chore.

That’s it for now.  I have knitting to do.

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. ProjectME says:

    Happy New Year Maura. I wish only the best for you and hope for peace for 2014. I’m always here if you need an ear. My email is rmjohnston67@msn.com. Hugs!

    • Maura says:

      Becky – wishing you all the best for 2014 as well. How are things going for you? Thanks for the offer of a private ear. I’m finding that my need for support on this topic waxes and wanes based on my reaction to someone else’s action. I’m going work on my reaction before reaching out. Your offer means a lot!

  2. Zazamataz says:

    And Happy New Year to You! I think I’ve decided that I am going to have to go back to counting calories – or at least tracking food – for a while. I like your idea of tracking other things that can make me feel good and I will be putting some thought into that as well.

    I will volunteer as well to be an ear if you like. I do realize you don’t know me very well so I won’t be insulted if you want those things to remain more private.

    • Maura says:

      Zazzy, I hope you had a great birthday! As mentioned in my reply to Becky – I’m going to work on my reactions vs reaching out for support at this point. Your offer of an ‘ear’ is very much appreciated! Thank you.

Leave a comment!

