A Lesson in Humility

Note: this post is not my usual rambling about my weight and desire for it to come off by magic. In my investigating my Core Desired Feelings, I remembered that I get a real kick out writing so, from time to time, I’ll post short essays here rather than a typical blog post.

The drizzle left it’s icy bite on my hands as my husband and I quickly approached the restaurant with a bit of trepidation. We were off for an adventure – trying out a new restaurant. To our surprise, we were personally greeted by the chef and the pointed to an unoccupied area of the restaurant, away from the other patrons. I looked around and realized why: we were the only white people there.

For us, this was a good thing. We were on search for soul food, which is becoming increasingly harder to find. The chef chatted with us for a while and then made his way back to the kitchen to prepare our order.

In the meantime, a man came in out of the cold and asked for a glass of water and if the restaurant was hiring. The man was neatly dressed, but obviously down on his luck and he was cold. As he sipped his water, I began thinking we should offer to buy him lunch. But two ladies beat me to the punch and showed me how charity is supposed to be done: They invited the man to join them as their guest. They gave him more than food – they gave him the gift of companionship and more importantly they preserved his dignity.

I wasn’t looking to score brownie points with my idea to offer the man a meal. His hunger made me uncomfortable and I wanted to do something about it. I know I can’t solve world hunger, but helping one person get through a day without being hungry is doable from time to time. My lesson in humility came from the two ladies who showed me how to help with grace.

This happened a few weeks ago and the experience is still on my mind. It’s made me realize I have a lot to learn about the execution of being charitable. Now when the urge to help strikes, I ask myself if my offer comes from a place of humility.

Can I put down my wants and my needs and seek out what the other person wants and needs and strive to meet those needs?

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment!

