Musings

It’s been a while…  I’ve been in an introspective mood lately. Today’s my birthday and I tend to become quite introspective around my birthday.

I’ve been thinking – what do I want for myself over the next year.  Then I saw something about identifying your desires by tapping into “how do you want to feel?”  And I kind of liked that.

So, how do I want to feel?

  • Rested
  • Passionate
  • Loved
  • Loving
  • Competent
  • Respected
  • Energized
  • Happy
  • Calm
  • At peace

Those are only a few desired feelings.  I plan to spend a good bit of today refining and identifying the core feelings.  From there, I’ll be looking at what I can do to get those feelings.

I can tell you this – for the first time in years and years – I did not step on the scale this morning. I broke a birthday tradition. This was because I almost aways have a negative response to the number on the scale.  I don’t need to know the number.  This helps me be happy, calm and at peace.

 

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Musings

  1. Zazamataz says:

    I hope you had a nice birthday, as stress free as possible. I like your idea of tapping into how do you want to feel. It’s a very different way of looking at the issues. Another thing I plan to borrow from you.

  2. Pingback: 42 | zazamataz.com

  3. Ally Bean says:

    I found your blog via Zazzy. Inspired idea to not get on the scale– and instead focus on the positives that are possible in your life. With age comes wisdom. Happy Birthday to you.

  4. ProjectME says:

    Maura, I’m sorry I didn’t comment earlier. I hope your birthday was everything you deserve for it to be. Hugs.

Leave a comment!

