Food is out of control

Well, it was yesterday.  I won’t list what all I ate – but almost none of it was healthy.  And it seems I was eating constantly.

And this morning, it hit me – stress eating.  Pure, unadulterated stress eating.  The stress is personal so I won’t get into it here.  I sure wish I could recognize this pattern BEFORE it takes off instead of after.

I’ve also been thinking about going back to My Food Diary.  I don’t know why – but it’s definitely been in the back of my mind.  Yeah, I do know why.  I’m feeling lost and a bit frantic.  Scared even.  My Food Diary, while not effective for me, is familiar and in some ways comforting.  But I am now, as I type, remembering why I left: so many people searching for magic bullets, so many fad diets, etc.  Yeah – I don’t need that.

I guess I need to create my own ‘comfort space.”  And remember to go to it!

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food is out of control

  1. Zazamataz says:

    I usually find it easier to identify stress eating afterward. Though, to be honest, even if I can see myself doing it, I tend not to care in the moment. I understand the potential comfort of the food diary, too. That works for me short term but I won’t continue it. I really hate it. And also, I sometimes end up eating more. I’m done eating for the day, I’m not hungry…but I have calories left! Must eat!

  2. ProjectME says:

    Stress eating … I know it too well. I agree with Zazamataz – its always easier to identify after the fact. Well, “in the moment”, I truly don’t care. I either have to talk myself out of it or regain control afterward. Stopping it in the moment feels impossible. I understand the pull for MFD. I value my friendships made there (hello you!), but I have no desire to go back. If you’re dying to log your food, My Fitness Pal has a very decent app that is equally as good as MFD. And its free! Finally, I’m sorry to hear you’re feeling stressed at all Maura. Stress stinks. Hugs.

Leave a comment!

