Aches and Pains…

…  after every workout.  

I started the Barre 3 program while my back was hurting.  That was a mistake but I kept on going.  Hubby says if you look up the word ‘mule’ in the dictionary, you’ll see my pic.  This time being mule-headed didn’t pay off.   The aches and pains after the first week of Barre 3 forced me to take some time off.  Um, no plan B.

So, being mule-headed, I did Barre 3 again.  Result – a night of restlessness.  My lower back was killing me.  My knees hurt. 

Most likely my form is wrong.  I don’t see anything in the program that should cause these aches and pains – unless my form is not right.   And this is why one should endeavor to take classes when it comes to yoga-like or pilates-like exercise when first starting out instead of DIY’ing it.

This morning hubby says “You really should pick out an age appropriate exercise.”  Yeah – he’s’ really endearing himself to me.

I think the truth of the matter is that my knees supported almost 100 lbs of excess weight for far too long, as did my back and I should pick out an exercise that totally respects that.  Racking my brain…. walking.  In the winter? In the rain? In the summer?  In the heat?  In the spring? In the pollen?  Can we say treadmill?  

I’m guessing it’s back to modified Leslie Sansone workouts for me.  That’s OK.  Cheaper than buying a treadmill!

 

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Aches and Pains…

  1. ProjectME says:

    It stinks when the exercise we want to do doesn’t agree with our bodies. I felt that way trying to do the Body Revolution program. How do you feel about joining a gym? You would have access to all kinds of joint friendly exercise (bikes, elliptical, treadmills, etc). It will always give you an option if the weather is bad or you just don’t feel like working out at home. I will probably never be without a gym membership again. I don’t always work out there – sometimes I want to work out at home, but I love having options. Just a thought.

    Hang in there Maura. Remember Plan B and Plan C. I think you’re awesome!

  2. Zazamataz says:

    I looked through the exercises they let you see without registering and I can’t imagine just jumping into those without a lot of pain. If you have bad knees and back, could you get referred to physical therapy and learn what would strengthen your back and legs and not cause additional problems?

Leave a comment!

