Accepting Practice

I think that the my first step to living a life that is not colored with the constant nagging “you need to lose weight” thought, is to accept that I do need to lose some weight in order to feel better.  But what is my real goal here?  To feel better.

And accepting that I must practice – on a daily basis – taking the steps necessary to lose weight feel better is also key.

So, I’m accepting that to feel better, I must practice…

…. intentional movement
…. intentional healthy eating
…. intentional restraint around less than healthy food

What does it take to intentionally move?  Providing myself the space to do it.  And I’ve done that.  I’ve negotiated with my boss to adjust my work hours so that I’ll have time in the mornings to practice intentional movement.   What else does it take?  Accepting that though I may not want to keep to my intentional movement (IM) plan, I will feel better if I do.

What does it take to practice intentional healthy eating?  Again, it takes providing myself the space to plan and prepare healthy food.   I think it also takes acceptance that sometimes I need some help – and eating a wisely purchased frozen meal from time to time is OK.  So – it takes a consistent practice of planning, prepping and packing my breakfasts and lunches for work.

And what does it take to practice having intentional restraint around less than healthy food?  This is actually the hardest part for me.  When I’m tired or bored,  I want to eat as a distraction.  So for work, I’m going back to my rule of  ‘I don’t eat it if I didn’t bring it – unless it is a planned splurge.’  It also means that I accept that not having dessert is not the end of the world.  Or that skipping the key lime pie (omg – it’s the best I’ve ever eaten) at Dan’s in Blairsville will only be uncomfortable for a moment.  Feeling better is worth a little bit of discomfort as I practice restraint around all the yummy food.

And I think that with just a bit of time and effort in these three areas, I can live without being consumed with thoughts about food and needing to lose weight.  I can get on with my life.  And isn’t that what we really want?

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Accepting Practice

  1. Zazamataz says:

    I really like the way you’re framing your goals. I get what you’re saying about acceptance and can see where I am still stuck in the wanting things to be different without doing different things place. You’ve given me a lot to think about.

  2. ProjectME says:

    Acceptance – the big huge key to it all. And don’t forget forgiveness. The two main topics on my blog right now. I like your thought process!

Leave a comment!

