And a month later

… the personal problems are still there, but don’t seem so dire.  Hubby and I are on different planets about an important part of our lives and we’re trying to get on the same planet without exploring the big bang theory up close and in person.   We’ll make it.  That much I know.

In addition to that – work has been hellish for the last 10-12 weeks.  I’m tentatively hopeful that a light at the end of the tunnel is about to appear.   This coming week will be my last week of having to be in the office at 8 AM each day.   I’ll still be working the same number of hours – just spending less of my time sitting in a car stuck in traffic.  I love it that my boss is a sensible woman!

I’m in the process of reading Susan Albers’ EatQ.  And I highly recommend it.  It’s a guide to learning to insert a pause between the impulse to eat and the act of eating.  And what to do in the pause.  It’s not an 8 week program to cure you of all that ails you.  It’s a guide to skip around, find what you need and practice it.  

And over on Lifehacker.com (what an addictive time drain!) I saw 2 posts this week that actually seemed doable and helpful.

1) Write out in great detail what an average perfect day looks like to you.  Find one or two things in that day that aren’t in your average days now.  Get them there.  Repeat the exercise.  (This is way simplified).

2) Make a nag list.  Write down everything that’s nagging you in the back of your mind.  (Damn, I need to pay the bills.  The laundry is piling up.  I really need to get new shoes.  I must complete this …  at work.  etc..   

After the list is made, pick the one thing that is causing the most stress and do it.  There – one less stressor.  

We’ll see how it goes.  I know what my # one thing is.  And it’s so trivial and meaningless and totally required at work.  And it will take me about 4 hours to get caught up on it. (A time tracker).  Sigh – that’s my goal for the week – to get caught up on my time tracker.

That’s it for me.  It’s time to make some happy food.  A frittata and stewed apples.  Yum.  I love fall.

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And a month later

  1. Zazamataz says:

    Hi! It’s good to see you writing again. I hope your stress gets more manageable for you. It always seems like there is so much in the way of goals – everything else comes first. I really like your 2 lifehacker goals and will probably incorporate them somewhere in my goals.

  2. Pingback: mid november already? | zazamataz.com

Leave a comment!

