Attached to Stress?

I’ve been thinking about my goal to manage stress better.  It’s actually more than that.  I no longer want the word stressed to be part of my self identity. 

I’m not saying that I don’t want life to happen and cause moments of feeling extreme pressure or emotion.  I just want to no longer attach to those feelings and internalize them to the point that they become part of my identity.

I think I may be ‘hooked’ on feeling stressed, being a chronic dieter, constantly struggling with money, constantly struggling with weight, constantly not having enough time.  

For the next 31 days, I’m taking baby steps to unhook stress my my identity.   Today, I start by taking a walk break or 2.

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Attached to Stress?

  1. Zazamataz says:

    A long time ago a therapist said that because I saw myself as needing to lose weight, I would always create the need to lose weight. It made sense to me, it’s part of my identity. The same with stress, now that you mention it. I’ve never figured out quite how to change that.

  2. ProjectME says:

    Interesting thoughts by both of you. Very interesting.

Leave a comment!

