Day 25: Do your hair

I’ll think about it.  Right now, it’s drying by itself.  I prefer to minimize the amount of heat I put on my hair so, it can dry by itself and then I’ll pop it up on hot rollers.  That reduces the amount of time, too.

So, I get an email from Sarah Jenks in the night.  Today is ‘now or never’ day to sign up for her class.  She’s not offering it again until sometime in 2015, I think the email said.  OK – bully for her.

I sort of get what she says – there will always be something in the way.  Before I decided to do Optifast, I put up every single roadblock I could: 1) I can’t afford it 2) my doctor won’t approve, 3) my therapist will think it’s not a good idea and 4) I can’t fit it in with my work schedule.  I make the appointment to go their program introduction. But before I attended that introduction, I made an appointment with the doc – she as all for it.  And I spoke to my therapist,  and while she had a few concerns, she felt I could handle it.  So two roadblocks removed.  I went to the introduction meeting and the facility had a payment plan and explained how some of my daily costs would go down.  The third roadblock was gone.  And lastly, they had an evening session that as long as I practiced discipline with my time at work, I could make.  The 4th roadblock was gone.  The only roadblock left was myself.

I chose to participate and I did lose the weight.  And I kept it off until all kinds of roadblocks started cropping up again.   And I think perhaps the biggest thing I got out of Sarah’s program was that I have to find a way to remove the roadblocks again.

What are those roadblocks?

1) Mindset:

  • I absolutely refuse to go on another diet, yet I need to lose weight and boy howdy, I can be right cruel to myself in thinking and in action
  • I have difficulties with conflict and right now there is a conflict with my husband about how my time is spent.  

Hmmm, I had to edit quite a bit and in the process I’ve decided I have one roadblock: mindset.  I’ll explore that a bit more in future posts.

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 25: Do your hair

  1. Zazzy says:

    We are our own worst enemies. My greatest frustration is that I know what I have to do and I choose not to do it. The things that I’ve gotten from this month are reminders of why certain things worked and that it’s okay to take care of me.

Leave a comment!

