#lmwlchallenge Day 16: Forgive Someone

Wednesday, 9/18:  Forgive SomeoneThis one is a doozy. Not forgiving someone is like sticking a knife in our thigh and thinking that it’s going to hurt the other person. They just don’t care we haven’t forgiven them, it only hurts us. Write a letter to someone you need to forgive (maybe it’s you). Tell them why you were upset, what you learned from it and why you’re moving on. Thank them for the learning experience. You don’t need to send it, but bonus points for picking up the phone and apologizing for holding a grudge. When we shed emotional weight, our body naturally releases physical weight. Don’t believe me? Give it a shot and let me know how light you feel.

Ooh – that’s a doozy.  I thought perhaps I’d forgive myself for not taking care of myself as well as I should have for the past 3 years or so.  Or perhaps my DH for being so set in his ways that I felt I didn’t have the requisite flexibility in my schedule to take care of myself.  Or perhaps my mother for being a feeder, urging me to eat whatever she put  in front of me and then shaming me because I was a chubby child.

Or perhaps the person I need to forgive doesn’t need to be someone I have tied to my weight.  Perhaps my former friend B who told me I was a drama queen when I challenged her for treating me badly.  Or my former friend J who stood me up and never called.  Or K who can’t be bothered to pick up the phone and stay in touch.

Hmm, this is definitely making me think.  And yeah, I have some forgiving to do.  It just hit me how much resentment I’m  harboring and I know it’s not healthy.  

I know many people bare their souls in their blogs.  Not me.  I’ll give glimpses into certain aspects of my life, but there are somethings that are too private to post for the entire world to see.  The letters Sarah says to write to the people definitely fall into the ‘too private’ category.  Just know I’m going to work on them.

 

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #lmwlchallenge Day 16: Forgive Someone

  1. ProjectME says:

    Maura, I’m learning a lot from your daily challenges. Your words have made me think. I do believe there’s way more to this journey (for some of us) than just eating too much. Thanks for your honesty. Keep writing. Keep challenging. You (we) will get there!

Leave a comment!

