Back

I was hoping to have all sorts of pics, etc of the trip.   They’re in my mind, which is as good a place as any for memories. 🙂

The time away was peaceful, uneventful and though I didn’t sleep as much as I needed to, it was quite restful.

I did see my first painted trillium when we were on the Blue Ridge Parkway.  And there are all sorts of wildflowers, along with some man(woman) planted ones starting to bloom on our property.  I was thrilled to be able enjoy two perfect peonies!

And this week, I’ve learned a valuable lesson.  Any recipe for lunch for myself MUST be cut in half.  I can handle eating something twice in one week.  3x – not so much.  That’s good to know and more importantly – accept!  With acceptance, I can plan appropriately.  With denial – I set myself up for eating out and feeling guilty about it – just because I didn’t honor my food tolerance.

I’ve found an interesting food bar.  And for once, I’m not putting food in quotes when describing processed food.  This bar is made up of real food, is full of healthy stuff, especially fiber.  And one lasts (meaning, I stay satiated) for a long time.  Best yet – it’s good, but not so good that I want to eat more than one.  So what is this magic bar?  Corazonas Oatmeal Squares.  While it’s not balanced enough to be a meal by itself, it’s close.  Add some lean protein and I’m set.

And speaking of lean protein – I made this salad for my lunches this week.  It’s a great salad – but not more than 2 days in a row for me.   And tweaks I’ll make next time:

half the amount of onion and use sweet instead of red
half balsamic vinegar and half red wine vinegar
not be scared of adding salt because of the olives.

More later.  Gotta get back to work.

 

 

 

 

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment!

