Emerging on the other side

Well, over a week later and I’m still not 100 %.  Maybe 75%.  Walking to my car from the office triggers a coughing fit that lasts halfway home.  And please, please do not make me laugh – the resulting coughing fits are quite scare making, even though I’ve known this cough my entire life.

The bottom line – I’m getting better.

Sick foods – I don’t even remember what I ate.  But it wasn’t Pringles, Campbell’s soup, cake or cookies.

And of course, DH woke up feeling skanky on Sunday so we’ve had another week of this.  

But… I’ve started a trend with myself.  For the past week, I’ve had nothing from the vending machines and realized I should set a daily goal for myself: only eat what I bring from home or at a restaurant for a planned lunch out.  Part of the weight gain is a result of my allowing myself to become immersed in the food culture that is an undercurrent at my current place of employment. (It’s almost like free food is an unstated benefit).  By not sampling from the trays of leftovers placed in the break rooms for all to enjoy, I can very easily trim excess food intake.   And not feel deprived.  It’s a no brainer.

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Emerging on the other side

  1. Kara says:

    I’m glad you are feeling better!

    I want to take a stab at trying to fix the food/eating culture. Do we really need all this food everywhere? I’m actually considering submitting a suggestion to use other ways to motivate employees rather than relying on food all the time. Instead of trying to call upon willpower, why aren’t we asking for the food to not be there in the first place?

Leave a comment!

