Do you have ‘sick foods?”

I woke up Sunday morning not feeling well at all.  I ignored my not feeling well in my effort to take care of myself.  

Yesterday, I woke up feeling worse.  I worked from home, hoping a quiet day without the stress of a commute would help.  Today, I woke up feeling no better.  I throw in the towel.  I’m taking a sick day as soon as I finish an important call, which I should probably reschedule.  But it’s my first call with a client and I don’t want to reschedule this late in the game.

Anyway, the point is I’m sick.  In in all honesty, the last thing I want is all that healthy food I prepared for myself.  I want my sick foods. Foods I wouldn’t even THINK about eating when I don’t feel well: Campbell’s soups and Pringles.  Actually, I don’t want the Pringles.  I do want soup.   And I really don’t want Campbell’s anything.   Panera Bread chicken noodle soup would be good.  As would Goldberg’s barley mushroom.  But better would be anything non-dairy based my husband prepared for me.  

Yesterday, he and I went to lunch.  I just wanted soup.  We had Chinese – I had the wonton soup. It wasn’t good.  The veggies from the beef and veggies were OK.  I think.  I can’t really taste that well.  But it wasn’t what I wanted.  Hubby made potato-leek soup last night.  I think it was good.  I repeat – I can’t taste that well.  It was, however, dairy based which is definitely not what I need right now.

I’m sitting here wondering what I can have for breakfast.  I don’t want yogurt.  Yep – it’s dairy based.  I want cake or cookies.  We keep neither in the house.  I thinking I’ll settle for a toasted english muffin.  But what about lunch.  I have these wonderful lunches prepared and the idea of eating them makes me tired.  And I don’t want them to to go to waste.  But I really just want more soup.

Yeah, that’s it. Soup is my real sick food.  And I’m happy to report I’ve evolved enough that canned, chemical filled soup no longer fits the bill.

Interestingly enough, I found this blog post about the same topic:  Fit to the Finish: Does Being Sick Make You Crave Different Foods?  It does me.  

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do you have ‘sick foods?”

  1. I hope you feel better and thanks for the link. Take care!

Leave a comment!

