A Small Success

DH and I went to lunch today at our favorite restaurant and ordered our favorite meals. For me, I started with shrimp bisque. It is normally creamy and smooth and bursting with flavor. Not so today. The taste was mediocre, the soup had “broken” so it was greasy and a bit lumpy. So very unusual for this restaurant, but what was even more unusual was my decision to not eat it. Normally that soup is so delicious that I feel the occasional splurge is worth the calories. I stopped eating after a few spoonfuls and realized I wasn’t enjoying the soup. I put the spoon down and pushed it away.

This is new for me and I think a very good step for me. I will normally clean my plate no matter how I’m enjoying the food. Today, I said no. I didn’t want to weigh down my soul by putting mediocre greasy soup in my body.

When the entrees arrived, I continued being conscious and stopped eating when I started feeling full. And because I was feeling full, I didn’t even give dessert more than a passing thought. I was too full to enjoy dessert. And I want to enjoy dessert!

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment!

