Currently

20130202-154559.jpg

Thinking about about my new job and realizing just how stressful the transition has been. I really don’t like big change, especially when it feels like I have no control and changing jobs just as my husband loses his makes me feel like I have no control whatsoever.

Learning to breathe. Actively practiced this on a harrowing drive earlier today.

Watching the snow fall.

Drinking a cup of chai tea

Missing Fergus and the rest of the kitties

Knitting more squares for the ‘the gift’

Wearing a beret my mother knit for me(again)

Noticingthe camellias blooming in the snow

Reading magazines, thanks to the Next Issue app’s free trial

What are you thinking about, feeling, hoping for, struggling with, watching, listening to, celebrating

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Currently

  1. Kara says:

    I’m looking for a new job so hopefully I’ll be transitioning too. But I’m worried too – what if I don’t like the new job? What if the commute is worse? What if the people are mean? What if I don’t like the job? I just take it one step at a time and try to not get overwhelmed.

    • Maura says:

      Kara, good luck with your search. My job change was within the same company, but the transition was quite big – from executive assistant (with these same VP for almost 5 years) to an operational role. In the former position, I had to be ‘on’ all the time and move quickly. I also had my boss’s full trust in my ability and judgement so I was able to operate with a great deal of autonomy. In my new role, I’m learning to slow down as exactly correct is mandatory where as directionally correct with speed was preferred in the old role. And, as should be expected, but I forgot at first, I am starting over with a new boss. I must earn her trust in my judgement. I’ll get there.

      And yes, it is one step at a time, one day at a time. One thing I’ve noticed about myself lately is that I seem to ‘get off’ on worry. Perhaps I’ve become attached to worrying and the chemicals the brain produces when one worries. More on that later.

      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a comment!

