Loving Kindness to my Tummy

Feeling fat triggers diet mentality, desperation, and sometimes binge eating.  Most of my feeling fat centers around my abdomen, which has been a frustration for me since I was about 8 years old and my mother decided it was time to start dressing to hide my pot belly.  Yep – I was ashamed of my body at 8 years of age.  

I’ve been thinking about how I can start reversing this and one thing that came to mind and resonated was Loving Kindness meditation: May I live in safety. May I be happy. May I be healthy. May I live with ease.”

What if I change this up?  May my stomach be safe.  May my stomach be happy. May my stomach be healthy.  May my stomach be at ease.

Initially, the thoughts are comforting and I feel some of the feeling-fat induced tension easing.  The question now – how do I remember to give myself this love through out the day?  

 

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Loving Kindness to my Tummy

  1. I so relate to this. I started hating my tummy when I was 3 years old. My parents would refer to it as my “spare tire.” I try to hold my tummy and be grateful for digesting the food I need for energy.

Leave a comment!

