Rocking my days quietly

I’ve been quiet and a bit pensive lately…

Cabled Mitts

Cabled Mitts

… and busy with knitting.  Knitting is a day rocking activity, so that’s a good thing.  I’m really thrilled that I’ve learned to do cables and do them without a cable needle – it makes my current project go so much faster!Here’s a pic of the latest finished project – I’m working on a “go-with, but not match” neck warmer.

I also discovered a new way to rock my day – ask about desserts before ordering in restaurants that have a reputation for serving up delectable desserts.  This way I can plan my order appropriately.  I did this yesterday at lunch and when the dessert list didn’t appeal, I ordered my favorite food from the menu.  Today’s lunch was also at a restaurant with incredibly good desserts.  I noticed mince meat pie in the offerings and started my order with that – rounding it out with baked chicken, collard greens, green beans and a piece of corn bread.  Hubby and I shared the pie and it was very yummy.  And both hubby and I have leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Hubby will have my Cuban roasted pork from Saturday and I will have leftover chicken from today.  Yeah – I stopped eating when I was satisfied instead of stuffed.  Another day rocker!

Intentional movement has been on the back burner as I’ve had odd work schedules for the past week or so.  This changes tomorrow and I do think intentional movement is a great way to rock my day.  I feel so much better when I get some physical activity on a routine basis.

And about my embracing “Buying Nothing” – I’ve done pretty well with that.  At first I was thinking about buying stuff, but I quickly added certain foods to the list and by doing so, I avoided the vending machine at work every day last week.  Buying food you need is one thing, buying food you want and don’t need – another.

 

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment!

