Weekly Recap

– Ended Vacation 1 day into it
– Knitting project hits major snag – having to block 30 squares.  Not sure how to sew them together
– Moved Intentionally 5x
– Sat with urges to spend money instead of eating – understanding this is a form or rebellion against our new reality
– Read Taylor Stevens The Innocent

All in all, I’m actually OK with this week.  It sucked that our company chose to give DH his bad news the day before we started our vacation.  It sucked that they gave him the bad news just 2 hours after I learned I was being promoted.  It’s hard to celebrate my promotion in light of the bigger looming concern of the loss of our primary income.

I’m OK with this because I handled it, for the most part, in a healthy way.  I didn’t try to ignore my feelings or discount them.  I didn’t try to distract myself by being too busy.  I did take care of myself by continuing my practice of Intentional Movement.

As long hubby and I take care of ourselves (he made a huge step yesterday and I’m so proud of him) and we support one another, we’re going to be OK with whatever happens.

About the Intentional Movement – I didn’t want to go play with Leslie this morning.  I wanted to be lazy.  But I told myself  “20 minutes.  Just do 20 minutes and see what happens.”   I chose a different walking program  – faster one – and 15 minutes into it, I felt this huge rush of energy.  I made it through all 3 miles and feel great.

 

 

 

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly Recap

  1. Have you ever read Geneen Roth’s book “Lost and Found”? It talks about how our relationship with money mirrors our relationship with food.

  2. Kara says:

    I’ve noticed that I can go the entire work week not spending money now that I’ve changed my eating behaviour. So, I’m not surprised to hear that money and food are linked.

    • Maura says:

      Hi, Kara – thanks for the comment. I think I have a good bit of work to do in this area. I have very strong compulsions to over spend/eat in reactions to restriction of food by spending and to restriction of money by eating.

Leave a comment!

