Prophetic? Gilda Radner’s “What I Ate Today”

Hubby and I were watching an episode from the first season of Saturday Night Live in which, what seemed to me, Gilda took aim at the diet industry – in 1975.

The monologue (follow the link to read the monologue) was simply Gilda reciting an inventory of what she at that day. But it wasn’t that simple – the food choices and the pace became more and more frenetic. To me, it was testimony and a warning of the madness diets can wreak. Again, this episode took place in 1975. I was only a teenager then, but already very conscious that I did not meet the Twiggy thin ‘ideal’ the diet industry and media were imposing on women. At that point in my life, the only thing I did to watch my weight was go jogging with my older brother or do a few sit ups. I was conscious about my size and shape – but not yet made crazy about it. When I see pictures of myself in high school, I was actually quite tiny and very pretty. It makes me sad knowing that I thought I was huge and unattractive.

Fast forward 35 years – I’m now a walking encyclopedia – full of the caloric and macro-nutrition content of just about any food. And I feel quite mad by it all. And I’m about 40 lbs over weight. And I wish I’d never heard the word diet. But I’ve been hearing it since I was in 3rd grade and imagine I’ll hear it myriad thousand times before I die.

However, hearing the word diet and doing the word diet are two different things. I choose to not act on the word diet. Instead I will continue to practice peace by listening to my body and responding to it’s needs. The diet industry will survive without my contribution and I’ll be a much happier person.

And to that end, I cancelled my membership to MyFoodDiary.com. I don’t need it.

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prophetic? Gilda Radner’s “What I Ate Today”

  1. Trust your own inner wisdom. blessings

Leave a comment!

