Start Write Now: Writing History

Start Write Now: Writing History

Nourishing the Soul is a blog dedicated to nourishment – encouraging self nurture and asking some provocative questions.  Start Write Now is a series of writing exercises I thought might be good for me.



I’ve been an avid reader for much of my life, especially as a child.  And as a reader, I put writers on a pedestal where I felt I had no place.

I have always felt something was not quite the way it’s supposed to be with my life, especially my career.  And I turned to all the self-help books I could get my hands on. (In retrospect, I don’t advise this course of action).  One of the books was Julie Cameron’s The Artist’s Way.  I didn’t get very far into the book – but I did get to the part about morning pages.  I decided to try the exercise – get up and before doing anything else, write until 3 pages have been filled.

I didn’t do the exercise exactly as prescribed:  I made myself coffee.  I lit candles, burned incense and played soft music in the background.  And I wrote.  Somedays the writing was non-stop, I couldn’t keep up with the thoughts tumbling out.  Other days, I’d write things like “I don’t have anything to say.” or “I’m sleepy.’

But the ritual resonated and I found myself not dreading waking up each day. Instead, I looked forward to the centering exercise.  And I credit the exercise with helping make me healthy again.  And now, as soon as I think of the ritual, I long for it.  Sometimes I let the longing make me ill.  Other times I just breathe through it and remember the centered feeling and let that feeling take over.

I’ve been thinking of this ritual quite a bit lately and I’m slowly making space in my life for it.  There’s always time to take care of yourself – and for me, the best way to do that is by writing.

About Maura

an erstwhile former weight management blogger writing about life without diet should's and should not's filter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment!

